"Back-Fire Problems With a Clayton Wood/Coal Furnace

fyrguy86

Post by fyrguy86 » Tue. Dec. 12, 2006 6:50 pm

I am new to coal burning. I have a Clayton 1600H wood/coal furance. Last week I got a good wood fire going. There were lots of red hot coals in the firebox. I added abour 40-50 pounds of nut coal...leveled it out quickly and close the top door. The ash door was open to give it plenty of air. I heard it popping and such. After 2-3 minutes...there was a "back-fire" out of the lower ash door. It shot out about 2-3 feet. I though that was very strange. So after a few days of warm weather, I tried it again. This time I had still a little fire of wood burning. I added the coal and about 3 minuted into it....it backfired out the bottom ash door again. What in the heck am I doing wrong? (My flue temp was arounf 200-300 degrees at the start of the coal. It is anthracite nut coal.) Some needed advice would be great. Thank you!

laynes69

Post by laynes69 » Tue. Dec. 12, 2006 7:06 pm

You need to get a good hot coal bed before loading that much coal into it. Get your wood coals then add a layer of maybe 1 to 2 inches. Let this layer get hot and burning, then add another layer a little thicker. once this layer is caught and going, then add your coal to it. Keep your ash door damper open, but not the ash door. Whats happerning is your smothering the fire and producing alot of coal gas. Once the flames get to the gas whoosh. I had it happen to me 2 times, and that was 2 times too many. Once you add that last bit of coal, close the ash door, keep your damper open, and let it go for about 1/2 hour to 45 minutes, then check it. This should help. Good Luck.

barley master

Post by barley master » Wed. Dec. 13, 2006 7:01 am