Thinking of Buying a Harman Mark III

Skinsfan

Post by Skinsfan » Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 10:09 pm

I'm new to this forum. I'm hoping for some good advice/suggestions.

I bought a Dutchwest model 2479 non-catalytic woodstove 2 years ago. It has turned out to be complete junk. I burn nothing but seasoned hardwood in it and I've never over-fired it (to my knowledge). I certainly load it up with wood and leave the damper open on really cold nights, but I would think the stove should be able tolerate that. However I'm no expert. The refractory panels are all broken up, the grate on the bottom of the stove was so warped that I had to flip it upside downin order to remove the ash pan easily, and the top panel on the inside of the stove is so warped that there is a 3 inch opening even with the damper closed. Either the stove is not designed to be filled with wood, or it's just a complete piece of crap. I'm hoping I can get a few hundred bucks for it. I paid $1500 for it new. Any thoughts????
I'm considering buying a Harman Mark III. My home is a bi-level, approx 2200 sq. feet, and the stove will be in the basement. I like the idea of being able to burn wood or coal. I hate getting up in the middle of the night and having to load wood. Does anyone know anything about this particular stove? I've been told that it's high quality. I've never burned coal before, but I've been told that if I start I'll never want to mess with wood again.

Any thoughts or feedback would be appreciated.

jpete
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mk II
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Nut, Pea
Other Heating: Dino juice

Post by jpete » Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 11:56 pm