Turn a Hopper Fed Stove to Highest Efficiency ALWAYS

madeinchina
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun. Mar. 08, 2009 4:59 am

Post Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 5:10 am

pret wrote:Hi Madeinchina,

Welcome to the forum. Do you plan to work on the Axeman Anderson 130 unit? This is an auger fed similar to the AHS that Mr. Yanche referred to in a previous post.

Always interested in making something better and more efficient. Looking forward to inspecting what you design. Best wishes.

Pret
I am doing on hopper fed stove. I am planning to use eletronics to control air supply than to use auger to control fuel supply.

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12734
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 5:49 am

madeinchina wrote: .....my goal which I am working hard, is to develop a SIMPLE hopper fed stove in place of stoker.
The reason people buy stokers is to make things simple. ;) What's harder than loading a hopper, 50 gal drum or best case scenario a years supply of coal in a bin for worm fed stoker. Yes it has been done, just matter of planning and having the right size basement. In essence a giant gravity fed coal stove. ;)
madeinchina wrote:I am doing on hopper fed stove. I am planning to use electronics to control air supply than to use auger to control fuel supply.


I believe you're missing the point of having a stoker, the feed for the coal doesn't necessarily control the amount of heat. It's a simple mechanism to move coal.

madeinchina
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun. Mar. 08, 2009 4:59 am

Post Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 7:45 am

Richard S:

The auger is inside the stoker. The stoker has a hopper. You have to feed the hopper first.

One big problem with auger is stuck.
Also without electricity, a stoker will not work.

Hopper fed stove can work efficiently when has electricity, or backed up by a battery. Electricity consumption of electronics and control is very low compared with auger. Also hopper fed stove can work WITHOUT any electricity.
Only difference is burning efficiency.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

madeinchina
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun. Mar. 08, 2009 4:59 am

Post Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 7:48 am

Richard S. wrote:
madeinchina wrote: I believe you're missing the point of having a stoker, the feed for the coal doesn't necessarily control the amount of heat. It's a simple mechanism to move coal.
You can place stove in basement. a coal bin on the ground. and a pass between stove hopper and coal bin.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8564
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Fri. Mar. 27, 2009 5:07 pm

I think there is some confusion here. Richard S is referring to an auger to feed the hopper, Not the fire itself. The stoker stoves have a pusher plate that feeds the coal to the fire, not an auger.

Richard

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”