Carbon Monoxide

Post Reply
grottorian
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed. Jul. 16, 2008 12:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer 503
Location: So. Md.

Post Sun. Mar. 01, 2009 3:28 pm

Hi -- I have a Hitzer 503 insert. I've had it for 3 years & love it! This week though it has set off my CO detector twice... It has the restrictor plate in it -- I put it in a couple years ago & it puts out more heat that way.... I have been burning alot of oak wood in it this winter with the hopper out of it..... the wood doesnt put out as much heat and good when it's not real cold out.... anyway I wondered if it was the wood (with the restricted draft causing the co problem) --- so I switched back to coal (anthracite) only.... but it put out carbon monoxide again today & set off my alarms ---- I guess I could have a creasote buildup? ---- After the stove cools I will take the restrictor plate out & clean the flue if needed... I would like to get some ideas! Thanks!

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6620
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Sun. Mar. 01, 2009 3:48 pm

How often do you clean any horizontal surface? (Plates in stove, stove pipe, etc). I'll bet you've got something plugged. Clean it, NOW! Please?

User avatar
JB Sparks
Member
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 8:09 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman - Chubby
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman: SF160 - Chubby Sr.
Location: north central Mass.

Post Sun. Mar. 01, 2009 3:53 pm

A yup, It worked before and now it don't. just gotsta have a plug.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

grottorian
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed. Jul. 16, 2008 12:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer 503
Location: So. Md.

Post Sun. Mar. 01, 2009 4:13 pm

OK --- I'll get to it...

grottorian
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed. Jul. 16, 2008 12:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer 503
Location: So. Md.

Post Tue. Mar. 03, 2009 3:05 pm

Got it cleaned now --- the cap on the chimney was jammed up..... & i'm back to working great..... I'll be cleaning/checking it more often from now on! Thanks!

User avatar
009to090
Member
Posts: 5101
Joined: Fri. Jan. 30, 2009 10:02 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 HighBoy
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: DVC-500 x 2
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Rice
Location: Warrenton, NC

Post Tue. Mar. 03, 2009 3:07 pm

grottorian wrote:Got it cleaned now --- the cap on the chimney was jammed up..... & i'm back to working great..... I'll be cleaning/checking it more often from now on! Thanks!
Hip-Hip-Hooray, for CO detectors!

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
JB Sparks
Member
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun. Oct. 19, 2008 8:09 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman - Chubby
Stove/Furnace Model: Harman: SF160 - Chubby Sr.
Location: north central Mass.

Post Tue. Mar. 03, 2009 3:09 pm

That be good news. Glad your up and running again.

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6620
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Tue. Mar. 03, 2009 3:48 pm

Make a mental note of how long it took to clog. Next time clean it before that much time has gone by. :)

I guess they say... check any new stove after 30 days. That will give an idea of how long it'll go. Most people learn what their stove needs. Some each month, some 6 months, some will go a whole season.

NOTE! If you change the brand of coal you are using, check ash build up again. There can be a huge difference from one coal to another.

grottorian
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed. Jul. 16, 2008 12:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer 503
Location: So. Md.

Post Tue. Mar. 03, 2009 4:05 pm

Yes - it was different coal & I've been burning oak wood too.... ---- alot of ash mixed with some creasote .... == clog... but I wasn't checking/cleaning .... now I know about this 6" pipe etc... & will keep it clean!

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”