Federal Airtight Stove

dsteinel

Post by dsteinel » Sun. Feb. 15, 2009 8:53 am

Has anyone any experience with a Federal Airtight stove? Supposedly burns coal and wood. Will it burn anthracite?

Devil505

Post by Devil505 » Sun. Feb. 15, 2009 9:34 am

I used to own a Dutchwest FEDERAL model stove, but it was hardly air tight. Ity was a cast iron stove with many leaky seems but could burn wood or coal. Do you have any more info on the stove...or pics?

grizzly2
Other Heating: Oil foilfurnace, Jotul#3 woodstove,electric base board.

Post by grizzly2 » Sun. Feb. 15, 2009 6:00 pm

I read some reviews of the Federal when I was researching stoves before I bought mine. The reviews were not overall favorable, though I don't remember the specifics. :|

mehawk

Post by mehawk » Wed. Feb. 18, 2009 1:18 pm

I have an A-plus Consolidated Dutchwest that I have been burning coal in for the past 8-10 years. Stove has been great considering the age. I have only replaced the side and back grates.

MK

grobinson2
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 Highboy, and EFM 520 round door
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Coalbrookdale Darby, Harman Mark III, Stratford SC100, DutchWest 288 (With Coal Insert), Coalbrookdale Severn, Hitzer 50/93, Hitzer 354 Double Door, FrancoBelge La Normandie, DS Machine Anthramax
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Buck, Pea, Nut, and Stove
Other Heating: Vermont Castings Defiant 1975 FlexBurn, Fisher Grandpa Bear, Vermont Castings DutchWest 224, Vermont Castings Defiant 1945, Ravelli RV-100 Classic, Progress Hybrid, Glenwood Wood Chip Boiler

Post by grobinson2 » Wed. Apr. 07, 2010 12:20 am

Hey guys,