Coffee 4-11-20

Freddy
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined

Post by Freddy » Sat. Apr. 11, 2020 7:12 am

Coffee... Quick coffee. No Internet here... Big heavy,wet snow! Took out trees all over. Power out for 18 hours. Just came back. This is my first time on the coal forum with just a telephone. What a pain! But, bacon, eggs, home fries for breakfast. Internet wires down all over. They say Monday or Tuesday for repairs. Forward we go! Oh.... Eloise blanked the skunk and let it go in the back field. No
stinkies!

NoSmoke
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: New Yoker WC90
Baseburners & Antiques: Woods and Bishop Antique Pot Bellied Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove/Nut/Pea Anthracite
Other Heating: Munchkin LP Boiler/Englander Pellet Stove/Perkins 4.108 Cogeneration diesel

Post by NoSmoke » Sat. Apr. 11, 2020 7:17 am

Yes that was quite the storm.

We got 18 inches of snow here, and the power has been out for 36 hours and counting. I have been building my Gen-Set, and have thought along the way that it was over-kill. I mean I got the Kubota and the PTO generator which can push out 20 KW, but having its own engine would be better.

I had a heck of a time getting the tractor started. I had not expected 18 inches of snow, so the tractor was parked outside, it needed to be jump started, and I got my truck stuck getting to it. The truck was almost out of fuel, and so I ended up charging a second battery off that until it nearly ran out of fuel, then walked it back through the snow, and finally got the tractor going 3 hours later.