Mortgage Down Payment.

EarthWindandFire
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Leisure Line Lil' Heater.
Other Heating: Oil Furnace and Kerosene Heaters.

Post by EarthWindandFire » Thu. Jun. 21, 2012 1:42 pm

Here's a question for those recent home buyers or mortgage brokers out there. What is the current average down payment percentage?

I would like think that 10% will be enough, I just can't imagine having to come up with 20%. Back in New York I was a realtor in Dutchess County but the market in the mid 1990's was very different from today. As a matter of fact, the market in 2004 when I bought my current house was very different!

samhill
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: keystoker 160
Hand Fed Coal Stove: hitzer 75 in garage

Post by samhill » Thu. Jun. 21, 2012 2:05 pm

EWF, I was a agent back in the 60s-70s & we had to pretty much make sure they were qualified before we ever thought about approaching a lender, in reality it saved a lot of time all the way around, didn't waste my time showing houses that people couldn't afford & back then where ever you got your mortgage held it for the entire time. I wouldn't even want to try that game again, no longer are there many honest agents.

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WNY » Thu. Jun. 21, 2012 7:13 pm

Depends on your bank, typically is 10%, I think FHA can be as low as 5% down, but you may have to get PMI (Private Mortgage Insurance) until your balance gets low enough like 80% of the appraised value or something like that. I guess it depends on the loan vs. the house worth/appraised value for the PMI.

We just refinanced (from a 30yr @ 6% to a 15yr @ 3.375%) and rolled everything into the loan, we actually got a check back for $148 with no money out of pocket other than the app. fee and some other fee that you had to pay up front. ( Maybe $200).

2001Sierra
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice