Who's Doing Food Storage

mason coal burner

Post by mason coal burner » Fri. Apr. 22, 2011 10:15 pm

i'm just getting started with mine . I think I have been I denile but the more I see and here it is time . i'm starting to go in to panic mode . if I have to some bills will go un paid for a while . my family comes first . going to start with dry long term goods . I bought 10 ounces of silver less than 4 weeks ago . it's gone up 10 $ per ounce since . thats crazy !

jeromemsn
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker 90 dvc
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman elite fireplace insert

Post by jeromemsn » Sat. Apr. 23, 2011 12:11 am

I do dry goods, frozen goods, and canned goods. You just can't go wrong no matter what happens to the economy.

I just bought 2 acres of land here to cultivate and plant and hope to start a Produce Subscription Service. There are two other farms within about 50 miles of me that do the same and they sell a yearly subscription for $700.00 for the full year and $350.00 for just the fall. You get a Bushel Basket a week with fruits and veggies all grown on site. I hope to be up and fully running with fruit trees in about 4 years. It will be something to do if nothing else and the freezer will always be full.

I bought an Allis G tractor.....weird little tractor but you can see everything that your doing.

http://www.etruth.com/know/news/story.aspx?ID=539971

lowfog01
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Mark II & Mark I
Coal Size/Type: nut/pea

Post by lowfog01 » Sat. Apr. 23, 2011 8:13 am

You may want to check the archives. There have been a couple of threads on this topic - Ugly Squirrel's is the latest. Lisa

gunloader55

Post by gunloader55 » Wed. Dec. 18, 2013 12:01 am

been doing storage for years now,if you start canning i'd say spend the money for tattler canning lids over metal throw away,will save in long run and when crap hits the fan your ok.also wheat berries and grain mill are must have.prep and tell no one good luck.

jpete