The Anthracite Coal Market, How It Works

BDHodosn

Post by BDHodosn » Thu. Feb. 12, 2009 10:53 pm

Insofar as I'm new to this commodity...is there an off-season price decrease like the ones we used to see in LP and #2 oil? I cannot remember whether a buddy of mine (anthracite dealer) said there was. Likely I'll be contacting him for what I'll need next winter, but I'm curious about what the (ir)regulars here see in the spring and summer.
Last edited by BDHodosn on Sat. Apr. 01, 2017 1:40 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: changed title

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite

Post by Richard S. » Fri. Feb. 13, 2009 12:28 am

Note: I changed your title because I'm going to sticky this thread, this topic comes up frequently.

Generally at the breaker you might see a modest decrease in the Spring, anthracite coal prices have been pretty stable over the last 3, 4... decades. The Increse in the cost of anthracite has basically followed the cost of living index. The usual scenario is late summer/early fall you'll have an increase that is greater than what it was the previous fall. In the spring they might halve that increase. It will steadily increase in price each year but again this has basically followed the cost of living increases.

Now the last few years have been a little "screwey", there was big jump after Katrina, there was no price decrease this last Spring and we had what was the largest increase I've seen about mid August of this year. Now they haven't dropped it since then and you may ask well why not? Keep in mind it was the same price from the fall of 2007 until late summer 2008 or nearly a full year. That price held steady while other fuels skyrocketed over late 2007 and early 2008 and they absorbed the costs. They are just recouping expenses from those months... It's a trade off.