Does Coal Quality Very by Brand

cheapheat

Post by cheapheat » Sat. Sep. 02, 2006 8:20 pm

I was burning Blaschak pre-bagged coal last year but towards the end of the heating season I bought bulk coal From another local supplier and it doesnt seem tp burn as hot or as efficiently. The bulk coal was Jeddo brand and Im not too impressed for the 30 dollar a ton savings!

2001Sierra
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34

Post by 2001Sierra » Tue. Jun. 23, 2009 9:21 pm

We all seem to have our favorite brand. The ash content is very important if you are burning a hand fed unit. I have been burning a Buderus hand fired for 28 years. I have had very good luck with Kimmel, and Jeddo.

rberq
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 1300 with hopper
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Oil hot water radiators (fuel oil); propane

Post by rberq » Tue. Jun. 23, 2009 9:33 pm

What is the importance of the ash content in hand-fired stoves? I have heard it said that with too low an ash content the coal won't burn well, but I don't understand why.

e.alleg

Post by e.alleg » Sat. Jun. 27, 2009 3:32 pm

I buy my coal from the same source and each year the ash is different. It all comes out of the same hole in the ground, I guess different layers of coal have different properties. The last batch had very low ash about 8%, this years coal has about 12%. The only difference is how often I have to change out the ash pan in the summer, in the winter I dump it every day regardless.

coal berner
Location: Pottsville PA. Schuylkill County PA. The Hart Of Anthracite Coal Country.
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1986 Electric Furnace Man 520 DF

Post by coal berner » Sat. Jun. 27, 2009 3:55 pm