Does this look like nut coal?

cedar
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Fireplaces Insert
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut
Other Heating: Osburn 2400 insert

Post by cedar » Sun. Feb. 13, 2022 10:35 am

I am far from an expert, with this being only my 3rd season but this has been the most difficult.
I am attributing to my coal size being to big. It’s suppose to be nut size but if you look at the pictures I feel like the coal in the bottom half of the pictures is much larger than nut size, which I fee is more in line with the top of the picture.
I’ve contacted my supplier back in early December when I first started having issues but he claims it’s within spec and it just needed to get colder out.
The problem I keep running into is it’s jamming the grates when I try to shake it. Last night was the 6th time it’s gotten jammed up that nothing moves.
I’d hoped it might burn enough overnight to weaken and be able to break up this morning but it didn’t and the fire was almost out with a house temp of 62 and single digits outside.
Any thoughts?

Attachments

6EBFB385-319A-43FA-9760-1580DDF844EA.jpeg
.JPEG | 1.2MB | 6EBFB385-319A-43FA-9760-1580DDF844EA.jpeg
7DDBF8D4-579C-4EFC-BEEB-5EC0618D8F05.jpeg
.JPEG | 1.4MB | 7DDBF8D4-579C-4EFC-BEEB-5EC0618D8F05.jpeg
7DA8580D-275C-46FE-A83D-EF50ED519E37.jpeg
.JPEG | 1.2MB | 7DA8580D-275C-46FE-A83D-EF50ED519E37.jpeg
15A07378-E365-462A-A184-586334B15837.jpeg
.JPEG | 1.1MB | 15A07378-E365-462A-A184-586334B15837.jpeg

StokerDon
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Gentleman Janitor GJ-5, Van Wert VA-600, Axeman Anderson130 X3.
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Harman SF3500 reduced down to 3 grates connected to its own plenum
Coal Size/Type: Rice, Chestnut and whatever will fit through the door on the Harman
Other Heating: Noth'in but COAL! Well, Maybe a little tiny bit of wood

Post by StokerDon » Sun. Feb. 13, 2022 10:50 am

Welcome to the forum.