Coal sources in and around the Idaho area?

renaissanceman
Other Heating: 20" New Columbian fireplace

Post by renaissanceman » Thu. Oct. 21, 2021 1:30 pm

Tractor Supply has bagged anthracite and one local place in Caldwell, ID has ~1" bituminous for $300 per ton. I'm new to coal and looking for more sources. My new house has a turn of the century coal insert with shaker grates, so I'm going to be burning a decent amount of coal this winter. $300 seems pretty steep, but I don't think I have many other options. I was looking at Wolf Mountain Coal in Montana since I have heard their prices are much lower, but that's a long drive, and I'm not sure how one might go about shipping coal other than picking it up in a big trailer.

I got a couple bags from the place in Caldwell and lit my first bituminous fire (in a cubic mini woodstove, not the big fireplace) this morning by piling about 1/2lb on top of a bed of wood coals, and the heat was impressive.

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Thu. Oct. 21, 2021 4:35 pm

Hi. Some pics of the fireplace stove you have, and if it has a name and model name or number. Not all stoves burn any coal. If it tells where the stove was made thats a clue too. Im not going to be a lot of help with what it will burn but others here can tell you if they have some more info.

Im sure Wolf can set you up with someone to deliver a load. But you may want to get a small load to try first. Anthracite is better but the price you can get the wolf for means thats what you should try to burn.

1" bit coal is likely hard to burn as thats awful small. Theres another burner or two from your neighboring states that have posted in the last couple years if you can find their posts. one burns the Wolf coal I think.

renaissanceman

Post by renaissanceman » Thu. Nov. 11, 2021 4:41 pm