Keeping the coal lit

Hardknocks

Post by Hardknocks » Tue. Mar. 05, 2019 9:03 pm

Ok, I'm new to burning coal. We acquired a Surdiac 690 coal stove and cant seem to keep the fire going. We start by creating a nice bed of wood coals, then add maybe a quart of coal at a time until that coal catches , and then add more until the grate is full. The coal will burn in the initial area of where the wood fire was start and will burn maybe a 6" circle area , this area is right in line with the lower damper in the back of the unit, which leads me to believe we have a draft issue. All the other coal around what is burning will not catch on fire, weird. Our chimney stack is black pipe to the 8' ceiling, then stainless from ceiling to daylight, which is another 6' of insulate chimney. We have a barometric damper installed and it seems to be working, because of the way it flutters. Before starting, we clean the stove, including the heat exchanger, so I do think clogging anything is a issue. Without a water column meter tied in, I'm curious whether we have enough of a draw to keep coal burning. I have tried to keeping the ash door open to no avail. I have also tried blowing compressed air on the fire, which seems to put the thing out....I'm at a loss...anybody got some input I could try ? The first night we fired this thing up, it ran beautifully, now we cant seem to replicate what we did....stumped

Attachments

IMG950482.jpg
.JPG | 224KB | IMG950482.jpg
IMG950483.jpg
.JPG | 242.4KB | IMG950483.jpg

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Tue. Mar. 05, 2019 9:19 pm