US Stove 1500

kimberlyS
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: US Stove 1500 Series
Other Heating: Heat pump

Post by kimberlyS » Tue. Jan. 16, 2018 11:29 am

Hi All - I'm new to this coal heating world. We live in Clifton, VA (zip 20124). We are looking to get a coal furnace (US stove 1500 series), but can't seem to find an installation service around our area as well as where to buy anthracite coal in bulk (Besides Tractor&Supply :-). I searched online for both but the closest service is in Winchester who installs their stoves only, not the one you purchase online, and the price is more than double with less BTU, and not counting $800 installation service charge.

We have heat pump, and have torched about 2 cords of wood last month (brick fireplace) and have paid a ridiculous amount of money in heating bill.

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Tue. Jan. 16, 2018 2:56 pm

I am not sure about a local coal supplier for you, but....

Have you thoroughly checked out the US Stove 1500 and its ability to burn anthracite coal? There are a few here that have them or the Hotblast unit which is similar and they have made some mods to get them to perform well. Maybe I am mistaken but I believe that furnace to be a combo wood / coal burner and the compromise seems to take away from the units ability to burn coal well.

I just want to make you aware of possible issues you may run into.

kimberlyS

Post by kimberlyS » Tue. Jan. 16, 2018 4:58 pm

Thank you so much! I did more research on the US Stove 1500 and it seems that it prefers bituminous coal. For anthracite coal the size has to be in 2-5/16” thru 4-3/8”. range. That might be a draw back since I prefer anthracite coal, and stores nearby seem to carry rice and nut coals only.

I have to find a local (enough) installer, and it seems they only install certain products, I would probably have to take what they offer :-(

titleist1

Post by titleist1 » Wed. Jan. 17, 2018 7:44 am