Coal Truck CDL, and Wholesale Coal Cost Question.

ntp71
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Reading Foundry Water Heater
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Old Mill Mini Stoker with Keystoker Feed System
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar SCR
Baseburners & Antiques: Caloric UltraMatic Coal-Gas Range
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut

Post by ntp71 » Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 10:14 am

Hello,

I have been looking into buying a coal delivery truck to start a small business. There are not alot of these trucks around it seems and some are either CDL (over 26,000lbs) or non CDL. It's hard to find a non CDL truck, and I really don't have time to go to school for a CDL license.

So, my first question is, What type of CDL license do you need for driving a truck that is over 26,000lbs? I guess my question would be, is there a specific endoresement, or is there a basic CDL? I am looking to get a study guide and plan on taking the test, however I have ZERO experience in the world of truck driving so pardon me for my ignorance on the subject.

Ok, my second question. A ton of coal delivered is around $205 in my area. If I go to the breaker and load up my pickup I could get it for $170. Is the breaker price the same price a delivery business would pay, or is there a further discount for volume? Maybe I should have asked when I was at the breaker, however you guys on here seem to know alot about this stuff.

Thanks

Neal

Dennis
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: AHS/WOC55-multi-fuel/wood,oil,coal
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/stove size

Post by Dennis » Fri. Mar. 01, 2013 11:08 am

If your wanting to go into a coal delivery business,you should talk to the mayor Richard,since he and his family was in the business.He had 2 high lift trucks for sale also,not sure if he has them still.As for a non-CDL truck(under 26,000 lbs) your only wasting time and fuel as the payload will not be enough, as in you can only carry a few tons and make more trips.