Blashak Versus Kimmel - Opinions on Quality Versus Price?

glenwoodoak

Post by glenwoodoak » Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 8:07 pm

Hi,

I'm new to coal and haven't burned either brand. I can get both in my area, but the Kimmel is about $20 a ton cheaper. Was wondering if the products were generally equal or if it was worth the few extra bucks for the Blashak?

Thanks for the input

blrman07

Post by blrman07 » Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 8:21 pm

The answer is not in how much you pay per ton, but how does your coal burning device like what you put in it. I am close to three coal yards within 15 minutes and two more within 45 minutes that vary in price for bulk ranging from 170 to 185 a ton. The cheapest with is the 170 a ton burns hotter and I burn less than the 185 a ton but it has a tendency to run into ash fusion problems if I don't watch it closely. When I burn their coal I cut down the air a bit and the ash flows off the grate just fine.

Don't judge the coal by the cost. Judge it by how it performs. It's kinda like whiskey. Some like Kentucky, some like Tennessee. Prices go all over the place and it comes down to what do you like.

Buy a sample couple of bags or if in bulk a few buckets full and try em out. Pick the one that burns the best for you and your appliance.

Rev. Larry

tsb
Stoker Coal Boiler: Binford 2000
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL Pioneer top vent
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Saey Hanover II
Baseburners & Antiques: Grander Golden Oak , Glenwood # 6
Coal Size/Type: All of them

Post by tsb » Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 8:25 pm

You'll find the Kimmel better for your type of stove.
It's a southern range coal with more volatiles. It will
be a little more flamey ( if there is such a word ) and
light easier.
If you can get it bagged, try one of each and see what works the best.

glenwoodoak

Post by glenwoodoak » Mon. Jan. 28, 2013 8:32 pm