Coal Quality and Fly Ash

Post Reply
User avatar
robb
Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue. Feb. 16, 2010 6:33 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 608 stoker
Location: Lancaster County, PA

Post Tue. Jan. 15, 2013 9:20 pm

I have a Hitzer 608 Stoker. I changed coal suppiers this year. After burning since end of Octoer/beginning of November I noticed about days ago I got that sulfur rotten egg smell almost constantly. So I took stove pipe off and there was enough fly ash at flue collar on top of stove that it was almost completely closed off. I have never had this happen in the 3 years of owning my stove. Can coal quality lead to an increase of fly ash?

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1851
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Tue. Jan. 15, 2013 10:30 pm

For sure! White ash coal has way more fly ash than red ash coal. I ran a hand fed for 28 years and stopped sweeping the chimney because nothing really came out that did not already fall to the base. In came the Keystoker 90 stoker and after 2 years I was embarassed at how much ash swept out of the chimnney, almost a scary amount. I burn mostly white ash coal. I now sweep the chimney every year :oops: Who would of thunk the stoker would of been such a drastic change.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11509
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 16, 2013 11:14 am

The amount of flyash produced can vary from one coal source to another, or even from one load to the next depending on variability of the raw product.

Stokers tend to produce more fly ash because of the air velocity through the coal.

User avatar
fastcat
Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Thu. Nov. 12, 2009 11:50 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut/Stove Mix
Location: CNY (McGraw)

Post Wed. Jan. 16, 2013 4:16 pm

How has the wind been in your area this year? Here it has not blown as much or as hard this year as in past years and I have had to clean my T on the back of the stove which I have never had more than 1/4" in the bottom.

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11509
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 16, 2013 9:41 pm

Tonight I decided to pull the flue pipe off my EFM and check it for flyash...it was 50% full! Different coal this year, lot more flyash. Guess I should set a better example and check the pipes more often.

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12565
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW), ComfortMax 75
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Wed. Jan. 16, 2013 9:44 pm

Rob R. wrote:Tonight I decided to pull the flue pipe off my EFM and check it for flyash...it was 50% full! Different coal this year, lot more flyash. Guess I should set a better example and check the pipes more often.
Does the lead-up to taking a clean-out cap off for flue pipe cleaning require a full shutdown, or merely a decent draft?

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11509
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 16, 2013 9:48 pm

I just switch the stoker off, vacuum, then switch it back on.

User avatar
lsayre
Member
Posts: 12565
Joined: Wed. Nov. 23, 2005 9:17 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW), ComfortMax 75
Location: N/E Ohio, between Medina and Wadsworth

Post Thu. Jan. 17, 2013 6:08 am

So decent draft and power off it is. Thanks!

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4716
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507 on standby
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Thu. Jan. 17, 2013 2:25 pm

If you use T's with caps instead of elbows, it's a snap. I've got one at the top into the chimney and one at the bottom into the boiler. Takes less than a minute with no shut down. You do suck a little flue gas out but no big deal.
taped joints.jpg
I've cleaned mine out twice so far this season.

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21612
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Thu. Jan. 17, 2013 4:56 pm

Nice ck. If I wasn't straight up through the house I'd definitly use that set up--cudoes dude :)

User avatar
fastcat
Member
Posts: 443
Joined: Thu. Nov. 12, 2009 11:50 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Blaschak Nut/Stove Mix
Location: CNY (McGraw)

Post Thu. Jan. 17, 2013 7:27 pm

freetown fred wrote:Nice ck. If I wasn't straight up through the house I'd definitly use that set up--cudoes dude :)
Fred your stove doesn't exit out the back? Use a T there instead of an elbo. :D

User avatar
Frackstoker
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed. Oct. 15, 2008 2:28 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Coal Size/Type: Rice - Blaschak
Other Heating: New Yorker Oil Boiler
Location: Lebanon County

Post Mon. Oct. 07, 2013 3:09 pm

coalkirk wrote:If you use T's with caps instead of elbows, it's a snap. I've got one at the top into the chimney and one at the bottom into the boiler. Takes less than a minute with no shut down. You do suck a little flue gas out but no big deal.
taped joints.jpg
I've cleaned mine out twice so far this season.
Sounds like a good plan! Thanks everyone. Where should the baro-damper be located for the T set-up?

Bear038
Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun. Nov. 28, 2010 8:03 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark II
Location: Freeland, MD

Post Sun. Oct. 13, 2013 10:35 am

Coalkirk, just saw your idea for the Tee as a clean out. On my way to the supply house, it will be done by this evening :D

User avatar
coalkirk
Member
Posts: 4716
Joined: Wed. May. 17, 2006 8:12 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507 on standby
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh anthracite/rice coal
Location: Forest Hill MD

Post Sun. Oct. 13, 2013 12:13 pm

Bear038 wrote:Coalkirk, just saw your idea for the Tee as a clean out. On my way to the supply house, it will be done by this evening :D
Well I can't take credit for the idea. Honestly don't remember who I copied it from but it works great. Pop off that end cap, shove the shop vac wand in and done in a few seconds with no shut down. I've got the same arrangement at the bottom where the vent exits the boiler just above it is another T with the Baro.

Bruce M
Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue. Feb. 28, 2012 8:23 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 1627 basement stove
Location: Sullivan County, NY

Post Mon. Oct. 14, 2013 4:33 pm

I just ordered a Tee fitting also, tired of dealing with the double wall elbow. The double wall Tee was about $75 with shipping but it will be worth it if it causes less frustration, Those damned elbows always spin out of whack and with the double walls is just frustrating as all heck.

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Prices & Quality, Coal Dealer Inquiries & Reviews”