Jeddo Coal in Ebervale ... Question

bsteckel
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA600

Post by bsteckel » Wed. Aug. 22, 2012 6:16 pm

For those who drive there to get your coal ... what do they use to load your truck or trailer? I am thinking of using those woven super sacks to hold my coal. Do you think they would be able to fill them? I am new to coal and unsure of what equipment they use to load there. My plan was to load the sacks on a trailer and bring them home all filled up. The seond part of this question is what ideas do you have to get the sacks off the trailer. I will be using an equipment trailer, low sides, wood floor and worst of all just ramps to off load. I do not have a forklift, but might be able to borrow one. I do have a pallet jack, but don't want to get run over by a 1 ton sack of coal that gets away from me... my other thought was maybe use an engine hoist to offload them from the trailer, then use my pallet jack to bring them into the garage.

any ideas?

thanks in advance...

Brad

coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea

Post by coaledsweat » Wed. Aug. 22, 2012 6:26 pm

I was there last year with my dump truck for 5+ tons of coal. They loaded it with a huge loader, didn't even take a full scoop to load the truck. They loaded several other trucks the same way. The breaker may have chutes but I didn't get real close to see. I would recommend that you call the mine and discuss it with them, they'll have the answer for you. The people there are real nice and the coal is great, enjoy!.

bsteckel

Post by bsteckel » Wed. Aug. 22, 2012 6:58 pm

thanks for the info .. I am working on my garage addition and hoping to have everything ready to fire up the Van Wert I bought .. will give them a call and see what they say.

whistlenut
Stoker Coal Boiler: AA130's,260's, AHS130&260's,EFM900,GJ & V-Wert
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Franks,Itasca 415,Jensen, NYer 130,Van Wert