Unburnt Coal - Quality Problem?

Post Reply
User avatar
tcalo
Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue. Dec. 13, 2011 4:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Our Glenwood 109
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Long Island, New York

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 9:31 pm

I've been having issues with unburnt coal. Should the coal burn completely to ash? If left unattended I'm always left with a small layer of unburnt coal. I'm burning Blaschak...clean with very little fines. Ash seems chunky, not chalky! Does brand affect quality? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

User avatar
Coalfire
Member
Posts: 1029
Joined: Mon. Nov. 23, 2009 8:28 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 96K btu Circulator
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Denver, PA

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 9:46 pm

where is this small layer located?

Eric

User avatar
tcalo
Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue. Dec. 13, 2011 4:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Our Glenwood 109
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Long Island, New York

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 9:50 pm

Sorry, I should've been more specific :hammer: . I have a coal chubby with a suspended fire pot. The unburnt layer of coal is left on the grate.

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

User avatar
Coalfire
Member
Posts: 1029
Joined: Mon. Nov. 23, 2009 8:28 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 96K btu Circulator
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Denver, PA

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 9:52 pm

tcalo wrote:
Coalfire wrote:where is this small layer located?

Sorry, I should've been more specific :hammer: . I have a coal chubby with a suspended fire pot. The unburnt layer of coal is left on the grate.
What do you mean left on the grate.

Left on as chokes the air flow? or when you leave the stove burn out?

Eric

User avatar
tcalo
Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue. Dec. 13, 2011 4:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Our Glenwood 109
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Long Island, New York

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 10:01 pm

I let the stove burn out and there is unburnt coal left on the grate. I assumed the coal would completely burn to ash.

User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1854
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 10:19 pm

Coal will not burn to ash when allowed to burn out. Coal always needs new coal to complete the burn of previous coal as is goes through its burn cycle. We are burning stone not trees.

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

User avatar
tcalo
Member
Posts: 1080
Joined: Tue. Dec. 13, 2011 4:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Our Glenwood 109
Coal Size/Type: Nut Anthracite
Location: Long Island, New York

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 10:38 pm

2001Sierra wrote:Coal will not burn to ash when allowed to burn out. Coal always needs new coal to complete the burn of previous coal as is goes through its burn cycle. We are burning stone not trees.
Good to know. New to coal so I'm still learning. I was loosing my marbles trying to figure this out. I burn both wood and coal and thought maybe the wood ash was choking the fire so I switched to strictly coal for the past few days. I haven't had a problem when I have a continuous fire burning, but once the fire gets too low it seems to peter out leaving an unburnt layer behind. I've been experimenting with the MPD to see if it helps.

User avatar
2001Sierra
Member
Posts: 1854
Joined: Wed. May. 20, 2009 8:09 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90 Chimney vent
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Buderus Oil Boiler 3115-34
Stove/Furnace Model: Keystoker 90 Chimney Vent
Location: Wynantskill NY, 10 miles from Albany

Post Sat. Jan. 21, 2012 10:40 pm

Keep the faith, you will do well :P

User avatar
Coalfire
Member
Posts: 1029
Joined: Mon. Nov. 23, 2009 8:28 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine 96K btu Circulator
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Location: Denver, PA

Post Sun. Jan. 22, 2012 7:45 am

tcalo wrote:
2001Sierra wrote:Coal will not burn to ash when allowed to burn out. Coal always needs new coal to complete the burn of previous coal as is goes through its burn cycle. We are burning stone not trees.
Good to know. New to coal so I'm still learning. I was loosing my marbles trying to figure this out. I burn both wood and coal and thought maybe the wood ash was choking the fire so I switched to strictly coal for the past few days. I haven't had a problem when I have a continuous fire burning, but once the fire gets too low it seems to peter out leaving an unburnt layer behind. I've been experimenting with the MPD to see if it helps.
Fire should not get to low, if you are on a regular shake and refill schedule. Yes the MPD will keep more heat in the stove so you can use less coal. Do you fill the stove all the way? what are your shake and reload schedules?, Hows hot do you run the stove?

You will get the knack of it

Eric

User avatar
cokehead
Member
Posts: 1951
Joined: Thu. Dec. 27, 2007 8:28 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Locke, Godin, Tarm in da works
Stove/Furnace Model: Warm Morning 617-A, 3721, 502
Location: Mystic, CT
Contact:

Post Sun. Jan. 22, 2012 10:51 am

I do a lot of burn out/restart cycles with a little hot water boiler. I always have a layer of partially burned coal on the top of the ash after the burn out. When I do my shake downs I decided to get out the ash but leave as much of the partially burned coal on the grates before I do my restart because I hate waste. I build my new fire on top of that residue. I don't get crazy about picking out the partially burned stuff out of the ash, just what is obvious. Once the fire is re-established that partially burned stuff gets burned and passes through the grate during routine shake downs, minimal waste. Unburned residue on burnout is just the nature of the beast.

I get some chunky ash as well.

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Prices & Quality, Coal Dealer Inquiries & Reviews”