Deep Mined or Strip Mined

Got Coal? You can make dealer inquiries here for both anthracite and bituminous coal. Co-op information for those looking to purchase in bulk as a group. Reviews on different brands and dealers.
BIG BEAM
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri. Jan. 25, 2008 9:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: USS Hot blast
Stove/Furnace Model: 1557M
Location: upstate NY

Post Fri. Dec. 05, 2008 3:07 pm

Mike, Do all the strip mines float their coal? In a deep mine maybe they don't have to float their coal because the miner can do a better job of mining than a drag line operator hundreds of feet away? Are you saying that a well run deep mine can get away with just a picking table?

I love learning this coal stuff.
DON

mike
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon. Apr. 16, 2007 5:46 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Gentleman Janitor GJ5
Stove/Furnace Model: Reading utility stove
Location: NEPA

Post Fri. Dec. 05, 2008 4:05 pm

As a rule the coal from a deep mine is cleaner than the coal from a strip mine BEFORE it goes to a breaker. Most of the breakers out there have some sort of seperation equipment. Only a handfull of small breakers don't. All of the big breakers from the 1920's on had some sort of seperation equipment even if the were running 100% deep mined coal. In your average vein of Anthracite you have whats called a divider. It's not really coal and it's not really rock it does burn but at a lower BTU than the coal around it and with a higher ash content. It's almost impossible to remove without seperation equipment. The coal from a strip mine is not inferior in any way shape or form from the coal from a deep mine. It just needs a little more processing than the coal from your average deep mine because of the extra slate that gets picked up with it when being mined.

warm now
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue. Oct. 07, 2008 4:35 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: N.E. Pa

Post Sat. Dec. 06, 2008 6:33 am

People I know who work at the mines or breakers(I live just outside Wilkes-Barre, Pa) have said that coal should have "bone" in it to burn well. I took this to mean the pieces that are somewhat dull looking rather than glossy. I see it in the coal I have (chestnut from Chervy) and have had no problems. No klinkers and fine ash in the pan. It's supposed to be deep mined and it sure burns nice, but I don't know for sure. Is this true about the "bone" or are they yanking my chain?

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

bigchunk
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon. Feb. 05, 2007 10:39 am
Stove/Furnace Make: harman
Stove/Furnace Model: sf250 magnafire
Location: upstate n.y.

Post Thu. Feb. 05, 2009 8:07 pm

the stuff ive been burning says right on the bag deep mined coal. its burning quite well.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:19 pm

I bought a load for myself and my grandfather at Split Vein in Shamokin and we're both getting upwards of 60% ash back....what gives? I'm using a Keystoker KA6 and he has a Harman Boiler. I'm really not happy with this. Where can I get better coal down that way? I buy 4 ton at a time. We used to buy at Sovitsky Bros. but they are no longer in business.

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12712
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:54 pm

warm now wrote:People I know who work at the mines or breakers(I live just outside Wilkes-Barre, Pa) have said that coal should have "bone" in it to burn well. I took this to mean the pieces that are somewhat dull looking rather than glossy. I see it in the coal I have (chestnut from Chervy) and have had no problems. No klinkers and fine ash in the pan. It's supposed to be deep mined and it sure burns nice, but I don't know for sure. Is this true about the "bone" or are they yanking my chain?
If you want to listen to the old timers that's what they will tell you.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

Visit Lehigh Anthracite

User avatar
Richard S.
Mayor
Posts: 12712
Joined: Fri. Oct. 01, 2004 8:35 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200
Coal Size/Type: Buckwheat/Anthracite
Location: NEPA

Post Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:55 pm

BennyLumpkin wrote:I bought a load for myself and my grandfather at Split Vein in Shamokin and we're both getting upwards of 60% ash back....what gives? I'm using a Keystoker KA6 and he has a Harman Boiler. I'm really not happy with this. Where can I get better coal down that way? I buy 4 ton at a time. We used to buy at Sovitsky Bros. but they are no longer in business.
By weight or volume? 60% by weight would be a little unbelievable.
"The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits."

- Albert Einstein

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 2:28 pm

Volume...I'm going to weigh my next output and input for a better idea.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 12, 2012 9:42 am

Ok using my KA6 I put 92.2 lbs in of rice and took out 27.8 lbs of ash in about 26 hours....my math is horrible to figure out the percentage but it's kinda high I think and it's all clump and little dust. I'm heating my domestic hot water and about 3000 square feet of uninsulated Victorian home.

BennyLumpkin
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon. Dec. 10, 2012 1:15 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker
Stove/Furnace Model: KA6

Post Wed. Dec. 12, 2012 9:50 am

I just figured it up at just over 30% by weight. Pretty high isn't it?

Post Reply

Return to “Coal Prices & Quality, Coal Dealer Inquiries & Reviews”