Early Season Bagged Blashak or Tri-Axle Load ?

qbwebb

Post by qbwebb » Sun. Mar. 27, 2011 10:01 pm

I live about 250 miles from NEPA and had it in my head one of my spring/summer projects was going to be building an outdoor bin to store a bulk delivery in. I just got an add in my mailbox from a local supplier who is running a special until the end of april, 20-22 ton and only pay $10/ton delivery charge. They clarify that there can be a maximum of 6 deliveries in the local area, apparently they are looking to get people to schedule deliveries w/ their neighbors. Usually delivery is $70 first ton then $10 for each additional ton. This is my first year, I plan on running all summer for DHW, and think my annual usage will be around 7.5 tons.

They are advertising bagged blashak for $265 ton + the delivery charge. Their flatbed has the wide tire skid loader on the rear so they can pretty much set skids where you need them providing it isn't monsooning out like it was when I got my first delivery from them last sept (skid loader got stuck in the mud, wrecker had to come and pull out, a big PITA).

Without calling around, does anyone know what range I might expect to pay for a tri-axle of bulk shipped 250 or so miles to north west CT?

Phelps and sons in Vernon CT quoted me 245 ton/bulk delivery w/ 4 ton minimum last sept when diesel was cheaper, I am a bit of a drive for them though. To me the convenience of bagged is nice when the spread is only $20/ton. Weird thing, this supplier post prices on their website, I watched the price go from $265/ton to $289/ton and then it was temporarily unavailable, now they have the spring special at $265/ton.

I would like to secure a 3 yr supply, and am wondering if I should just get shrink wrapped blashak skids delivered and tarp them while this deal is going on rather than build a bin and get a tri-axle load. With all the crap in the middle east, 3 yrs of heat security in the near future would be a nice thing!

coalnewbie