Heating With Coal in the Midwest

voterone

Post by voterone » Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 7:28 pm

I'm a coal newbie with a few questions.

Is heating with heat with coal in the mid west a viable option? I would purchase sizable quantities and store the coal, and that leads to my next question: What is the best way to store coal (bagged/unbagged)? Also, where is the best place to buy sizable quantities of coal? Can tenders be put out to bid? Is there a difference in the quality of various brands of anthracite coal?

Any help would be most appreciated- and probably be followed up with more questions!

ken

Post by ken » Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 9:56 pm

Well you don't say where in the midwest , big area. You probaly get somebody bring it from Pa. in bulk or bags. Bulk you can just put trap down and over and your good to go. Just trap bagged. $$$$$ no idea.

voterone

Post by voterone » Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 10:09 pm

ken wrote:Well you don't say where in the midwest , big area. You probaly get somebody bring it from Pa. in bulk or bags. Bulk you can just put trap down and over and your good to go. Just trap bagged. $$$$$ no idea.
Omaha, Nebraska is the destination.

Given the transportation costs, I'd like to commit to 30+ tons and take it all at once.

Do you have any recommendations as to what brand might serve me best? I'm looking at Harman stoves.

ken

Post by ken » Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 10:18 pm

Blashcalk or Superior for coal. I think most at time in bulk would be 24 tons max. Get bags on a trailer , only know 60,000pounds is their limt. Then you got get it off. :shock:

voterone

Post by voterone » Tue. Jan. 05, 2010 10:27 pm

ken wrote:Blashcalk or Superior for coal. I think most at time in bulk would be 24 tons max. Get bags on a trailer , only know 60,000pounds is their limt. Then you got get it off. :shock:
Thanks Ken, for the pointers.