Good Place(S) to Buy Coal in Northeastern PA?

WissaMan
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Harman Magnum (MK1) w/ PC control
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WissaMan » Tue. Oct. 20, 2009 12:52 pm

I live in northeastern PA (near Bloomsburg). I am new this year to coal burning so I'm still learning the various "ropes".

There is a place in Bloomsburg that sells coal for $175/ton delivered (Sones). I have also heard from a neighbor that burns coal that he doesn't like Sones coal but yet another neighbor does. I like dealing local for sure, but I also like to know I'm getting a fair deal and a quality product.

My father-in-law said if I go to Mount Carmel, to a breaker, I could get it for like $110/ton. (he wasn't sure on the EXACT price since he doesn't have a coal stove anymore but I guess one of his buddies tossed that figure around recently). Though I don't own a pickup or trailer to haul it. I do have a E150 Ford w/ a hitch and could rent a trailor, but by then I figure I'd be getting close to the cost of just having it delivered.

I welcome any input on this....

thanks!
WM

wlape3
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Alaska 140 Auger
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Other Heating: Propane

Post by wlape3 » Tue. Oct. 20, 2009 1:08 pm

Coal seems to be like any other commodity. Some folks like it from one dealer while others don't. I think I'd ask your neighbors why they like it and why they don't. It may be the neighbor who doesn't like it had trouble with a load or with the delivery but you really don't know until you ask. A guy I used to work with would never buy his coal from the dealer I used because he got stiffed one year when coal was tight. However, I dealt with them for 10 years without a single problem.